Book Recommendations

It’s Friday morning everyone! I know everyone’s happy; it’s the last day of the grind before you have the weekend off, it’s just a couple of hours of work, and you”re done. Some people will go out and enjoy time with their friends, others, however, will take the time to curl up with a book and a cup of hot chocolate or tea, and settle in for a nice, comfortable weekend.

But I’m not here to talk about tea and hot chocolate, I’m here to give you my reading recommendations for this weekend and beyond. I have several different genres, so hopefully you’ll find one you like. They’re not all super new, but just some of my favourites. (they’re also mostly YA)

1. Paranormal: Halfings by Heather Burch

Seventeen-year-old Nikki is leading a perfectly normal life, until she is targeted by an evil that will do anything to get hold of her. But then, in swoop her rescuers: three teenage boys, with wings. Half-angels. Halflings, who are sworn to keep her safe. Nikki develops feelings for two of them, and must decide between them. She risks a broken heart, but the boys risk everything; the things they’ve always known, even their lives.

2. Dystopian: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

The blurb on the back of the book expresses it best:

I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time- and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

(Isn’t that just amazing?!?!?)

Crime/Thriller: The Pawn by Steven James

I’ve mentioned this one earlier in my post about my favourite books, which can be found here. This book truly captures its readers and doesn’t let them go until the end of the series, 8 books later. It’s a chess game between the main character, Patrick Bowers, an FBI agent specializing in Environmental Criminology and Geospatial Investigation, and his opponent, a criminal known as the Illustionist who is always one step ahead of law enforcement. Packed with twists and turns and a heart-wrenching conclusion, this book is a must-read. Steven James has now 8 Patrick Bowers books, each more exciting than the next.

Hope you enjoy!!!

temp

Leave a Reply

